Combined Heat & Power

Demand Side Services

Energy Efficiency

Heat Networks

Video: Standout decentralised energy projects crowned in virtual award ceremony

16 June 2021

The standout projects from the decentralised energy industry were crowned during our annual Decentralised Energy Awards today (16 June).

Normally carried out in person at a glittering ceremony, the 2020-21 Decentralised Energy Awards were taken online to ensure that Covid-19 wouldn’t prevent the achievements being made by this burgeoning industry from being recognised.

The event was hosted by Head of Policy Caroline Bragg, and saw members of the ADE team announce the winners, with a nominated member of each shortlisted company joining the team on camera for each award.

Viewers also heard from our panel of judges, which included Alice Owen from Leeds University, Rachel Hayes from Regen, Sotiris Georgiopoulos of UK Power Networks, Sumit Bose of Energy Live News, Alia Campbell and Martin Crouch.

Thanks also to Mahmoud Abu-Ebid and the team at Ricardo for their technical assessment of awards entries which also helped to inform the judging process.

Watch the awards ceremony online now on our Vimeo page.

The winners include projects which utilise waste heat from London’s underground tube network to provide lower cost and greener heat to local homes, the first online virtual marketplace allowing community participants to sell surplus decentralised power and the first subsidy-free solar farm installed by a local authority.

Nicky Butterworth of Guru Systems was named as the recipient of the Champion Award by our judges. On receiving the award she said:

“It’s been great to be part of this sector over the last 14 years, our corner of decarbonisaton and I’ve been able to collaborate with brilliant people on some key milestones in the heat network sector maturing.

“It was great to help set up the heat exchange mentoring scheme and be able to provide the support to other that I have been able to have during my career.”

Dr Alice Owen said:

“Over the last decade she has come at the key challenges of decentralised energy and heat in particular from of a variety of angles, as a civil servant, as an advocate in the industry and now as operational project development and tech facing role and I think that’s spread across the range of challenges, coupled with an awesome ability to include and inspire others to join the sector and work in it, makes Nicky a worthy winner in this category.”

The full list of Award Winners:

  • Heat and Efficiency: Operational – Presented to E.ON for its Black Horse Lane Regeneration project. This project implemented an innovative expansion of an existing low carbon heat network in the London Borough of Waltham Forest.
  • Heat and Efficiency: Design Innovation – Presented to the London Borough of Islington for the Bunhill 2 project. Bunhill 2 uses waste heat from London Underground’s Tube network to provide lower cost, greener heat to nearby homes, a local school and two leisure centres.
  • Heat and Efficiency: Digital Innovation – Presented to Kurve Technologies Ltd, a joint venture between Insite Energy & SAV Systems for KURVE. KURVE is the first-to-market digital smart metering and pay-as-you-go web-app for heat networks.
  • Power and Flexibility: Operational – Presented to Sport in Desford for SID Power. Sport in Desford made insulation improvements, switched to LED lights, installed 44KWp of solar PV and 6 Tesla Powerwall 2 batteries to become a net exporter of electricity.
  • Power and Flexibility: Innovation – Presented to Centrica for its Cornwall Local Energy Market (LEM). LEM is the first online virtual marketplace allowing community participants to sell surplus decentralised power.
  • Integrated Energy – Presented to Silver EMS and the GreenSCIES consortium for GreenSCIES. GreenSCIES is supplying the local community through a 5th generation District Heating network, harvesting waste heat to supply Heat Pumps integrated with a smart grid, battery storage and V2G points.
  • Special Award for Contribution to Net Zero – Presented to Pivot Power for the Energy Superhub Oxford. The superhub is pioneering an integrated approach to decarbonising power, transport and heat to accelerate Oxford’s journey to zero carbon.
  • Special Award for Contribution to Net Zero (Highly commended) - Npower Business Solutions received recognition from the judges in this category for its Westhampnett Solar Farm. Westhampnett is the first subsidy-free solar farm installed by a local authority, made possible through Npower’s partnership with West Sussex County Council.
  • Rising Star – Presented to Selene Molina Blanco, Engineering Manager at Vattenfall Heat UK. Selene is paving the way for more energy efficient practices in the UK district heating market.
  • Champion Award – Presented to Nicky Butterworth of Guru Systems. Nicky was recognised for a decade’s work in the heat networks sector, including playing a pivotal role in the creation of Heat Trust, the Heat Network Delivery Unit and the Heat Network Investment Project.
ADE Newsletter